PDA

View Full Version : Engraving acrylic

Jan Mrovec
07-24-2012, 5:12 PM
Hello

I have a problem with the engraving acrylic.(GCC - Mercury)
Laser makes vertical stripes. Engraving is not clear.(photo)
I replaced the X axis (axis, motor, bearings) ... the same.
Do not know what may be the problem?

thank you

Tony Lenkic
07-24-2012, 5:52 PM
Jan,

Does your laser have a "Tickle" adjustment? Try to lower it down.

Jan Mrovec
07-24-2012, 6:02 PM
Hello

I am a newbie in the laser.
Please, what is "Tickle" adjustment

Thanks

Tony Lenkic
07-24-2012, 10:10 PM
TICKLE
This is the term used to define the small pulses sent to keep the plasma inside the laser, energized.
Ask your GCC dealer for info on locating and adjusting tickle voltage.

On my machine (ULS) there is a set of DIP switches on tube assembly for this.

Richard Rumancik
07-26-2012, 12:54 PM
Tony, I am not disagreeing but what makes you conclude that it is the tickle problem? Usually a tickle problem is associated with extraneous bits of engraved lines outside the graphic boundaries (if tickle is too high.) If set too low it will fail to fire soon enough on a return stroke so there will be missing "pixels" in the graphic. It is not obvious to me that this is a tickle problem . . .

Jan, contact your GCC dealer for instructions on adjusting tickle if you want to experiment with this, but note where it was to begin in case you want to put it back to original condition.

I don't know what is causing the problem. What color is the background you are rastering? If it is 100% black then as a test maybe try to change it to 90% black and see if the look improves. I won't say this will solve the underlying problem but might just hide it enough to be passable.

What kind of acrylic is this? Cast acrylic will look better when rastered. If this is extruded then you can get an uneven effect when rastering as it will not turn white like cast.

Hopefully others will have more ideas of what the actual problem is.