PDA

View Full Version : Protecting and Storing My Tools Efficiently in a Tough Climate

Dustin Keys
07-19-2012, 11:31 AM
I need a little guidance on this issue. I'm new to woodworking. I have been putting together a basic set of tools and building skills as a hobby for the last two years or so. First, I'll tell you the current state of affairs and then the problems I'm facing...

My shop is half of a two car garage. I have built a woodworking bench that is floating in the middle of my shop space. Behind me as I stand at the bench are some repurposed storage units along the wall (someone was throwing them away). They are about 30" tall with an open shelf on which I set my planes for quick access, and drawers that hold drills and bits as well as some other items. The top of these units are for liquids (alcohol, naptha, polishes, paste wax, etc) and collecting clutter. On the wall above this storage unit (behind me as I stand at the bench) is a 4'x8' sheet of pegboard that I currently hang tools from. I use the standard 1/4" pegboard hardware you find at the BORG to hang and organize the tools. On the other wall I have in my shop space, the short one, is a repurposed desk that I use for guitar work.