PDA

View Full Version : Jet JMS12-SCMS Sliding Miter Saw

John Meade
07-18-2012, 10:22 PM
I am thinking about replacing mt Craftsman 10" RAS (circa 1976) with a new sliding compound miter saw. I am considering a new Jet 12 SCMS. A little background: I am an amateur furniture maker with a fully equipped shop. I have a very good 10" cabinet saw, but use my RAS for crosscuts and miters to avoid setup time changing blades, guards, and fences on the cabinet saw. Like many RAS users, I constantly have to adjust the stops and settings on my RAS so more often than not I resort to a hand saw and miter box for precision cuts, a good practice but one that sometimes takes time that I do not have. So the new miter saw would be bolted to a work table and hooked to my dust collector. Portability is not a key consideration. I also like the benefit of the SCMS's smaller foot print vs. the RAS.

Any thoughts on this? Is the Jet SCMS a good choice? Are there other SCMS's that I should be considering?

Mike Heidrick
07-19-2012, 12:22 AM
Personally I would buy in this order:

Bosch Glide
Milwaukee
Dewalt
Bosch Regular slider
Hitachi
Kapex (its just soo expensive to me but it is one of the best)

I own a 12" Hitach C12LSH - Hitachi refurbs are awesome buys.
I also own the 10" 717 Dewalt with the LED light that cast a shadow line of the blade vs a laser that can get out of alignment - it is my favorite of the two.

I have no idea why that Jet is $700+??!! - it looks exactly like the Crapsman.

Since you are looking to drop big coin get a Bosch T4B stand! They are awesome. If building in a permanent station the Kreg dence setup is nice.

Curt Harms
07-19-2012, 7:24 AM
If I were in the market, I'd consider the Bosch 'glider' and the Hitach C12RSH. I haven't used either but for shop use SCMSs that don't require much space between the saw and the wall seem like a plus. Here's a youtube video of the Hitachi with its sliding mechanism that sort of mimics the Kapex: