PDA

View Full Version : What's the infatuation with polyurethane?

Bill White
07-17-2012, 12:59 PM
I'm sure that this will start an explosion of responses, but I fail to see the need for poly on every darned thing built. Sure, table tops and high use areas, but everything?
I use a lot of wiping varnish and shellac trying to replicate the classic finishes.
Am I missing something?
Bill (who is now assuming the fetal position)

John Coloccia
07-17-2012, 1:05 PM
It's quick and easy to apply. Not everyone cares about replicating classic finishes. I think most people tend to use what they have laying around as long as there's no reason not to use it.

Jim Rimmer
07-17-2012, 1:11 PM
As an experienced woodworker who was finish-ignorant for a long time, let me put in my 2 cents. I have been doing woodwork for 40+ years but until a few years ago had only scratched the surface of what could be done and what was available. The internet has made a huge difference in my ww'ing knowledge. I made some lovely pieces and refinished a lot of nice pieces and finished them with poly. Until I stumbled on to SMC (and got my kids out of the house so I had more time) I didn't really get "into" fine woodworking. So, the large number of folks who dabble in ww'ing as i did and are only exposed to what is available at the BORG and do not access the wonderful help, suggestions and possibilities here at SMC, it appears that poly is the only finish available.

I'm not as negative about poly as some; I think it can be used to make some great finishes. However, now that I have a great circle of friends with knowledge and experience, I am trying different finishes and finding out how well they work. If your only advice comes from the TV make-over gurus and the "experts" at the BORG, poly is the way to go.

Prashun Patel
07-17-2012, 1:27 PM