PDA

View Full Version : Completely New, Question about Table Saws

Nathan Farrar
07-15-2012, 2:04 PM
Hello All,

I'm completely new to woodworking. I'm a computer scientist by profession. I've always wanted to learn woodworking, but haven't previously had the time, space and resources.
I've just purchased my first home, 3200 sqft with a completely unfinished basement. I want to eventually use half of it as a woodworking shop, but I plan to go that route slowly, starting with the most necessary tools first and purchasing what I need for additional projects as time goes on. I've read that the table saw is the heart of the workshop.

Here are the projects I'd like to tackle over time (yeah, I know it's a lot, and will consume many, many years - I'm looking forward to it). I think I've organized them in increasing difficulty.

Refinish patio stairs
Build a backyard jungle gym for daughter
Build a patio cover (i think it's called a pergola?)
Finish garage, drywall is already installed
Finish basement, insulation is already installed (1/2 woodworking shop, 1/2 "game room")
Build patio furniture set, including a built-in grill
Build a pool table
Build bedroom set for daughter

So with this in mind, what recommendations can you give me for purchasing a table saw? From what I've read, I may need a cabinet saw, but I'm hoping there might be a contractor saw out there that would be good for these projects, perhaps with a fence upgrade and a custom built table. Thanks!

scott spencer
07-15-2012, 2:42 PM