PDA

View Full Version : Grizzly 0555 series bandsaw question for you

Bill White
07-15-2012, 11:13 AM
I have the new G0555LX BS with which I'm well pleased.
Question is this:
Has anyone devised or used an additional dust port opening to increase air flow (as in make-up air) that will assist in the dust collection?
Seems to me that the air flow is a bit "starved" when using the 4" port for dust collection. I have the HF DC.
My thought is to add a port to the front bottom wheel cover.
Whatcha think?
Bill

Erik Loza
07-15-2012, 12:08 PM
Bill, I have no personal experience with your machine but (most of) our bandsaws use a single 4" dust port and my observation has been that as long as the DC is of adequate size and reasonably close to the saw, you should not have any issues with dust extraction. Back when I was doing the trade show circuit with one of our MM16's, I used the cheapest Delta single-bagger you could buy, since it basically got destroyed by the end of each trade show season and we did not want to invest a lot of money in that piece of equipment, and it worked fine. Yes, our Oneida 5hp would have probably done better but the point being that even though this unit might have been called "sub-par", it still got the job done through a single 4" port.

Hope this helps and best of luck with your new bandsaw.

Erik Loza
Minimax USA

Steven Hsieh
07-15-2012, 12:13 PM
I agree that they should have put a dust port in front of the bottom guides.
http://www.amazon.com/gp/customer-media/permalink/mo3GTBPB9OIY785/B0000DD0AC/ref=cm_ciu_images_pl_link

Erik Loza
07-15-2012, 12:21 PM
Oh, I did not realize that the only port on that machine was in the lower cabinet, rather than below the lower guides.

Yes, I can see how that would be an issue. The primary extraction point should be as close to the point of cutting as possible. The photo Steve linked looks like a clever solution.

Erik Loza
Minimax USA

Van Huskey
07-15-2012, 2:33 PM