PDA

View Full Version : Who makes their own band saw blades?

John R Hoppe
07-13-2012, 6:21 PM
I have been reading through some of the threads on bandsaw blades and it it seems that many people are spending a lot of money on pre-made bandsaw blades. I have been making my own for over 20 years and have saved a LOT of money by doing so. I buy blade stock by the coil, usualy 100', or pick up deals on EBAY for blades longer than my saw uses so that I can cut them to length. If you shop right, blade can be had for about $1.00/foot or less.

The process is quite simple and uses tools most people have. First, using a tin snips, cut an old blade and measure it for reference, then add 1/8". Cut the new blade and grind a 6:1 scarf joint (about 1/8" taper on .025 blade stock) onto each end, and silver solder it together using a propane torch. I made a jig to hold the ends of the blade straight when soldering, and use a boron modified flux that McMaster Carr sells. Once the blade is soldered, I carefully grind both sides smooth with an die grinder and a 1 1/2" sanding disc.

Over the years I have only had a few blades break at the joint, and if they are still sharp I just solder them back together. Usually they get dull before they break. Overall this process works great and I have lots of inexpensive blades available, so when they get dull and drift they can be replaced.

Andrew Hughes
07-13-2012, 7:13 PM
Hi, john what size blade are you welding?I could see myself making the 93 .5 for my pm saw.But not my resaw machine.With my luck Im sure I would mess something up.

Van Huskey
07-13-2012, 7:14 PM