PDA

View Full Version : Need a Dado blade recomendation...

Matthew Curtis
07-11-2012, 9:28 AM
Looking to buy a new dado blade. The old one is old and in rough shape. It was a cheapie anyways so I thought I would look into buying a new one. I was hoping that a few of the folks here would have some recomendations on a new one.

Thanks

Greg Bender
07-11-2012, 9:39 AM
Matt,
I had the Freud 8" super dado and just bought a 12" cabinet saw with a 1" arbor so I had to mreplace the dado set so I bought the freud 10" super dado. It is a heck of a dado set.Flat bottom dados and with the extra chipper and the shim set I can deal with any thickness of plywood. There are alot of choices ,Freud, Amana,Infinity to name a few but the freud just does the job well.
Good luck on your choice,
Greg

Jamie Buxton
07-11-2012, 10:05 AM
I've been using a Freud SD206 for at least fifteen years. It works well -- small bat ears, not much splintering. On a Unisaw, the six inch blade diameter gives a maximum depth of an inch. That's as much as I've ever needed.

Ellen Benkin
07-11-2012, 10:05 AM
I love my 6" Freud set. I have never needed a larger size and it comes in a nifty carrying case with the Freud lifetime guarantee. One of my blades chipped and I sent the set off to Freud and think I got a new set in return.

Jeff Duncan
07-11-2012, 10:12 AM
The Freud's a pricey set...but it really does a fantastic job. If your budget allows it I'd go for it.

good luck,
JeffD

Bill White
07-11-2012, 10:16 AM
Look on the _Bay for any Onsrud offerings. If they are still available, jump on one.
Bill

Rich Engelhardt
07-11-2012, 10:29 AM
It would help a lot to know what price range you're thinking of.
My SD206 ran me $79.00 at Lowes a few years ago.
While it's a decent set, I hear more good about the DeWalt set that's a little more ~ $105.00 and the Oshlun set that's less ~ $66.00.

Or are you thinking of going whole hog w/something like a Forrest or Freud Super Dado? ~$200.00 and up.

Andrew Pitonyak