PDA

View Full Version : Jointing square

Victor Robinson
07-10-2012, 5:08 PM
I'm fairly new to Neanderthal ways, aside from using a block plane to chamfer an edge.

When jointing the edge of a workpiece (with a jack), I always seem to do it unevenly so it becomes a taper/bevel and the edge is no longer square to the faces. I think the plane is dialed in to take an equal shaving.

What's the proper technique here (aside from having a nifty jointer plane that has a fence)? Thanks for your help...I do like the quiet pleasure of the Neanderthal way but get discouraged.

Jessica Pierce-LaRose
07-10-2012, 5:26 PM
In my experience - just practice is the biggest thing.

The other things that help me are a proper setup - if I can hold the board on the front of my bench with the leg vise or clamps or whatever, it's much easier than trying to joint with the board on the bench top. The uncomfortable stance makes accuracy difficult for me. Getting "over" the work helps me feel plumb better. I change my grip too - rather than holding the knob up front, I pinch the casting just behind the knob, and trail my fingers along the edge of the board to help me hold it square.

If I'm removing a lot of wood, one thing I do is mark with my panel gauge from both sides, and then using a drawknife or a chisel or spokeshave or a scrub plane, chamfer the edge of the wood down to this line. I usually mark the resulting bevel with pencil hatches to help me see it. Then as I start bringing the edge down, I have a better visual indicator without constant leaning over to check of whether I'm bringing one side down more than the other.

You can always focus on getting straight with the jointer plane or whatever, and then follow up with an edge trimming plane to make it perpendicular to the face.