PDA

View Full Version : Identifying standing dead timber and reclaimed wood of unknown origin

nikolas britton
07-09-2012, 8:07 AM
Hi,

My question is how do you identify what type of wood your working with? In particular, identifying dead standing trees and reclaimed wood. The resources I've found so far seem to depend on knowing what the leafs or twigs look like. I'm just getting into woodworking (coming from a hobby machinist background, because metal is too expensive), I live right on the edge of a dense forrest and would like to harvest dead standing timber for woodworking projects. I've been able to harvest a few trees so far and I must say it's a real satisfying experience to be able to take a tree and convert it (using machines you built) into precision lumber... I just wish I knew what type of wood I was working with. I'm located where Illinois, Iowa, and Wisconsin interset.

P.S. Do you have to follow the same lumber drying guidelines for dead standing vs green timber?

John Shuk
07-09-2012, 8:23 AM
Some pictures of the grain is helpful. If you have a picture of one or more of your projects we are pretty good at picking up on what you've got.

Andrew Pitonyak
07-09-2012, 11:45 AM
This might get you in the right direction:

http://www.amazon.com/Identifying-Wood-Accurate-Results-Simple/dp/0942391047

MIght be able to get a copy at the Library to check it out, or, if you live in Columbus Ohio, you can borrow mine. This assumes that you have some of the wood to look at, of course. Also, a local woodworking club might help.

It was mentioned that information about the grain is helpful. The book discuses how the wood will look and differ based on what you see.

You may also find this useful

http://forestry.about.com/od/treeidentification/a/winter_tree_id.htm

Ira Matheny
07-09-2012, 1:08 PM