PDA

View Full Version : How many rough-outs do you have?

Mike Cruz
07-01-2012, 6:30 PM
Okay, I've been hearing a bunch of folks saying that they have more rough-outs sitting around than they have space for! So, it makes me wonder... How many rough-outs does the average guy have sitting around? (Let's not make this an average vs mean discussion...;))

I'll start: I have a measely and embarrassing 21

Roger Chandler
07-01-2012, 7:08 PM
At the current moment..........only one..........a walnut crotch platter with a beautiful feather in the grain.......looking forward to completing it soon..............perhaps this week if I can find the time............I need to get busy, because I have a demo on Saturday [lidded boxes] and I need to make at least one more of those before Saturday [it will be turned to finish] and get some blanks cut for the demo as well.

Russell Eaton
07-01-2012, 7:30 PM
I have 30+ right now. Half are hollow forms, the rest bowls.

Scott Hackler
07-01-2012, 7:47 PM
I only have about 3 right now, because I haven't been turning much so far this year. Hopefully that number will increase after this weekend!

Dennis Ford
07-01-2012, 9:10 PM
I have not counted them in a long time but the 50 -100 range was an easy choice. I think there are about 60.

Lee Koepke
07-01-2012, 9:19 PM
i have one left now! Since getting my Jet 1642, I have made a boatload of pens for a wedding party ..... this weekend, I worked on cleaning up my shop and finishing up some of the roughs I had sitting around. Nice to turn something 'real'

James Roberts
07-01-2012, 9:40 PM
I only have 6 right now but have had as many as 12 at one time. I need more shop time:(.

Steve Schlumpf
07-01-2012, 9:40 PM
Without counting all the blanks... under 50 but more than 30. Used to have twice that but have managed to finish a few every now and then! Reminds me that I need to start doing some green turning again!

Ron Bontz
07-01-2012, 9:50 PM
I only rough out a few a year. Lack of space.