PDA

View Full Version : Mortice for tote

Matthew N. Masail
06-29-2012, 10:47 AM
Just got the tote into rough shape, I have never done this before... actually I've never really chopped any mortise before, so any tips, especially on getting clean lines, would be greatly appreciated.

Does the tenon stay the complete width of the tote?
how deep should it be?

does the locations in the picture look ok?, I mean, is it better to leave just enough room to tap the blade or should it be easily accessible.

David Weaver
06-29-2012, 11:15 AM
Right about where you have it in the picture is a good spot.

Make your mortise to the depth of the tenon you make on your handle. I've probably seen them anywhere between half and inch and 3/4ths of an inch.

If your tenon is good and straight, mark the mortise off the end of the tenon and cut it slowly making sure to stay inside the line. You can take a chisel and keep it just inside the line and define a line with a firm mallet strike (the same way you'd relieve a little bit of material in a dado) so nothing tears out around the mortise on the surface. chop the mortise out then with the chisel, making sure to get it to depth and try to keep it tight to the tenon on the handle so that you get a good tight handle, or sooner or later the joint will fail (once in a while in an old plane, they do, anyway).

David Posey
06-29-2012, 11:16 AM
I have limited experience with these, but I did have an old one come off on a try plane. The tenon was the full width of the tote. The mortise was also undercut at the front and the tenon part of the tote was made to match, and there was also a very tight fit lengthwise so that it was impossible for the tote to come out of the mortise with the plane moving forward. The mortise had to be apporached at just the right angle to get the tote to fit. It needed a little glue to stabilize it, but after that small repair it still works quite well.

Jack Curtis
06-29-2012, 3:33 PM