PDA

View Full Version : Pricing question

Michel Robillard
06-27-2012, 2:21 PM
Hi guys,
As a newbie, I need some help...
I would like to know if I miss something there.
I just did a job of 38 plaques in Rowmark LM922-602, Red with white engraving.
Of course, I needed 2 passes for a clean job
My wholesaler gave me the material and the file in .cdr
I just had to cut the plaques 6" X 10" then engrave them
I charged $12.50 each
To do the job i took 30 minutes to cut the plaques on my CNC
and 3.5 hours for engraving
Total for job : 4 hours for $475.00, cut, set-up and engraving included
A competitor that I know called me and said that I am really to cheap.
Should I work for more than $118.00 per hour????
By the this job was for a VERY good customer to me.
Thanks for your advices
I included a file to show what I had to engrave

Best regards,

Michel
TROTEC SPEEDY 300 60Watts

Martin Boekers
06-27-2012, 2:46 PM
They supplied the material too? That seems fair pricing to me. Many here get $60-$125 an hour for lasering
plus a set up fee.

Looks like you are making good use of your equipment. Beware what competitors say :), he may not have the CNC and was charging
more to do it all laser because it would take longer.

Pricing is always a challenge, there will always be someone hirer and someone lower, sell the on service that can seperate you more than pricing.

Michel Robillard
06-27-2012, 2:59 PM
Thanks Martin,
I don't want to work for peanuts
but when I work for more than $100.00 per hour on each machine, I am happy
And CNC not faster than the laser for vector cuts, but for me the job is looking better.
That's why I prepare the plaque first with my router
If someone want to be lower price, I don't care.
Peanuts are for squirrels, not for me, lollll
I wondering just because it's not the first time someone complain my prices.
I bought my laser because I was fed up to give my jobs for stupids people who don't know how to use laser.
Thanks Martin and good luck to you

Michel