PDA

View Full Version : Glass etching problems... suggestions?

Brent Franker
06-25-2012, 1:59 PM
Hello!

I'm pretty new to the lasering thing. I have an Epilog 36 EXT 75watt that I bought used. I'm unsure if I have a laser problem or settings problem but I've tried a number of settings and not getting the "crisp" results I'm expecting. I'm using the Epilog rotary tool.

The pics below show some of the more pronounced/worse examples but figured it might help determine if I have a hardware issue or if I just haven't figured out the right settings yet. This glass was made with the Epilog recommend settings for 400dpi glass etching. I have not really used my laser much at all but do know that the factory settings for cutting 3/8" acrylic result in a cut only about 1/2 way through. I have aligned the laser but do know the mirrors are not in the best shape.

Any ideas what might be causing the blurry/fuzzy edges and even the lasered part to not be uniform? I've seen these before to where they look like a nice frosted glass in the etched part... mine does not :)

http://www.extreme-z.com/gallery/album07/P1000398_resize?full=1
http://www.extreme-z.com/gallery/album07/P1000397_resize?full=1
http://www.extreme-z.com/gallery/album07/P1000396_resize?full=1
http://www.extreme-z.com/gallery/album07/P1000395_resize?full=1

Thanks in advance for any ideas on how to fix this :D

Scott Shepherd
06-25-2012, 2:05 PM
Change the "black" to 80% black or 85% black (maybe even sneak up to 90%), but start at 80% and see how you like that.

Gary Hair
06-25-2012, 2:17 PM
That's about what lasered glass looks like. The only way to get frosted glass is sandcarving.

Gary

Steve Busey
06-25-2012, 2:51 PM
That's a bizarre effect. Have you done a good alignment since you got the laser? Cleaned the optics?

Michael Hunter
06-25-2012, 3:59 PM
Do you get the fuzzies on other materials or is it just on the glass and with the rotary?