PDA

View Full Version : I can see it glow....but nothing comes out the end

Richard DiMaggio
06-24-2012, 10:10 AM
I have a home built 40 watt CO2 setup. My original setup was a used Synrad 25 watt tube that eventually out, and at nearly $800 + shipping there and back to get it repaired pretty much forced me to go with the Chinese glass HV tubes. I have been using this setup now for over 2 years without failure. Until now. I have read a few of the answers posted about "laser not firing" but most of them were either power supply problems or misalignment issues. When commanded, this tube glows the pretty purple, just like it has always done. I can turn up the power to it and it glows more intensly. However, holding a piece of paper at the outlet of the tube shows nothing. I did read where Dan suggested that it could be the exit mirror out of alignment (and I understand that there is no effective way short of taking a glass blowing class that it can be fixed) but I would think that with all those photons bouncing around inside the tube that SOMETHING would make its way out the exit mirror....
Dan? Rodney? Any suggestions or should I donate this tube to the glass recycle bin too?
thanks guys.
rj

Neal Schlee
06-24-2012, 2:00 PM