PDA

View Full Version : I need paint advice

Mark Burnette
06-22-2012, 11:46 AM
I'm planning to build my kitchen cabinets and my wife is standing firm on wanting them painted. I've never painted anything I've made out of wood (other than outside stuff of course) so I have little experience. The look she wants is a sage green color with the look of milk paint but it has to hold up to the abuse of a kitchen. I've seen my share of crummy paint jobs on flea market furniture & other kitchens so how do I get that "factory" look and make it last?

I'll likely make the carcasses out of birch ply and the face frames & door frames from some poplar I have. She better not change her mind after I get them built :)

Adam Potack
06-22-2012, 4:23 PM
I painted the cabinets in my kitchen a few years ago. Used benjamin moore with some flotrol and a good quality brush. Not milk paint but it came out nice and has held up very well. 3 kids and a dog and the paint still looks new.

frank shic
06-22-2012, 4:25 PM
get or rent an airless sprayer for a flawless finish but make sure you have the overspray containment worked out ahead of time

Ed Hazel
06-22-2012, 4:26 PM
I see some high end cabinets now have brush marks. Just spray them with a good quality finish, good excuse to buy some spray equipment.

http://www.woodcraft.com/Product/2005557/16510/General-Finishes-Sage-Green-Milk-Paint-Pint.aspx Is this what you are looking at? I bet woocraft will set you up!

Larry Edgerton
06-22-2012, 5:26 PM
When I need a worn look I use lacquer, base coat/clear coat. I fatique the areas that would naturally be worn with just the base color on so that the wood is just showing through using a fine scotch bright pad. When I get it how I want it I top coat it with clear so all is protected.