PDA

View Full Version : First thread: introduction & some questions about bandsaws

Kevin Schlossberg
06-16-2012, 1:57 PM
Hi there! I was recommended this site by various people on other sites, so here I am. I am a novice woodworker, and have been feeling the urge to create for a number of years. I recently pulled the trigger on getting some quality tools and am in the process of setting up my shop so that I can start to make sawdust.

I live in Louisville, KY, and due to the weirdness of our weather system there are always 12" through 28" rounds laying around from recently felled trees. Naturally I'd love to be able to turn these rounds into small boards for various projects, or blanks for bowls when I get into turning. What worries me is having enough capacity (and table strength) to be able to turn a torso sized round into smaller pieces, and having a table strong enough to handle heavier wood. Veneers aren't on my radar at this time.

My budget for a bandsaw is $1000-$1300 before accessories. If at all possible I'd like to stick with single phase power. I don't know enough to know if my "wish list" of features has mutually exclusive items on it :(

Many of the threads I've read contain information that is out of date, or models that are no longer being made. I've been searching through reviews here and recommendations on Amazon.com.. The guys at my local woodcraft shop swear up and down that I should buy Powermatic, but the reviews on Amazon indicate problems with machines built in the last couple years. I am not confident enough to build my own saw ala Woodgears.ca. I'm learning, but am still pretty confused. I appreciate any advise people could give.

David Hawxhurst
06-16-2012, 2:26 PM