PDA

View Full Version : Cherry loft bed complete

Paul Cahill
06-10-2012, 4:29 PM
Finally finished a cherry loft bed I have been working on for the past year. I spent 600 to 700 hours on it, partly because there were so many aspects of it that were new to me. It would be prudent to keep my day job for the time being. I used about 250 board feet of cherry that I have been sitting on for over 25 years. The plywood was all A-1 from Columbia Forest Products – nice stuff. The project had lots of firsts for me:
- mortise and tenon joints;
- use of hand planes for surface prep. instead of sanding;
- dovetails on a router table;
- edge-banding with ¼” strips;
- use of a card scraper to address tearout and for the final cleanup of the edge-banding;
- Oil / Varnish finish.

I have a separate thread on the build here. (http://www.sawmillcreek.org/showthread.php?175361-Loft-bed-build-frame&highlight=)

Comments are welcome.

Jeff Wittrock
06-11-2012, 9:39 AM
Wow, that looks like a lot of work. Is this a design of your own? It looks like it makes very good use of space.
I'm sure the end user loves it.

Paul Cahill
06-11-2012, 9:56 AM
Wow, that looks like a lot of work. Is this a design of your own? It looks like it makes very good use of space.
I'm sure the end user loves it.

Thanks for the comment. Yes, it is my own design. I made it to fit the space. I pushed the steps into the corner to avoid having to need a rail for that side. I left about 1" gap all around and if I had to do it again, I would have left a little more. Assembly was very tight - an extra coat of oil and I might not have made it fit.

Paul

ian maybury
06-11-2012, 6:06 PM
Nicely done Paul - there's a pretty comprehensive skills work out in that. It looks well. Now you've done it - you'll be getting more 'orders'. :)