PDA

View Full Version : Way, way, way OT

Jason Roehl
04-30-2003, 8:28 AM
Anybody here speak German?

I'm wondering how one would use possession, i.e., Mr. Roehl's Beer. I know the "Herr Roehl" and "bier" part, just tell me how to put it together. Reasons will come in the form of a pic later.

TIA!

John Wadsworth
04-30-2003, 8:39 AM
...forty years, in fact, since I studied German, but I think I can still remember this, Jason.

The possessive in German is pretty similar to English, although they don't use an apostrophe to mark it. Thus, "Herr Roehls Bier" is possible, although a more likely construction might be "Das Bier des Herr Roehls" if memory serves me.

If this hazy reply doesn't flush out a real German speaker, I'll be surprised!

Tom Sweeney
04-30-2003, 12:10 PM
We want samples of the real thing :D

Perhaps Herr Grumbine might step in and help out with the answer - or is that PA Dutch German????.

Bill Grumbine
04-30-2003, 3:56 PM
Ist das nicht Herr Roehl's Bier?
(Is that not Mr. Roehl's beer?)

Ja das ist Herr Roehl's Bier!
(Yes, that is Mr. Roehl's beer!)

Roehl's Bier! Ist nicht hier!
(Roehl's beer! Is not here!)

OOOOHHHHH!!!
(OOOOHHHHH!!!)

Sung to the tune of Schnitzelbank

Das ware Hoch Deitsch. Ob du wunscht Platt Deitsch, du sagst, "'Sis mei Bier!"
That was high German. If you wish to use Platt Deitsch (Pennsylvania German, or Palatinate German), you say, "That is my beer!"

Un jetzt, ich muss noch mei Schoppe gehe, un schaffe mit my Drehbank. Ich hab vier un zwanzigste Bier aagebohrt Schtiel drehe.

(And now I must go to my shop and work on my lathe. I have 24 beer tap handles to turn.)

Bill (Bill)

En Dumme Deitsch! (A dumb Dutchman!)

Ken Garlock
04-30-2003, 7:34 PM
Bill, did you hear about the fellow who wanted to go to a 3 day conference given in German?

His schedule was so busy that he only went the last day to catch all the verbs.:D

keith zimmerman
04-30-2003, 8:27 PM