PDA

View Full Version : Response to John Keeton on the use of Acrylic paints

Joe Meirhaeghe
06-08-2012, 6:41 PM
Joe, you are entirely correct! If I could get the effects I want with acrylics (probably could with some good instruction from you!) I would switch. I have done a little acrylic with an airbrush, and it applies well. I think I would prefer the more translucent colors so the wood could show through a bit. Perhaps you could do a thread on your process and share with us?

John, I am by no means qualified to teach airbrushing. I'm still learning myself. There are some good web sites & video's that show some good basic techniques available on the web.
Using acrylic's is probably a lot like learning to use dyes. You just have to do it & see how it comes out. I often use a combination of both transparent & opaques in different layers. You can do a lot by adding layers of different colors, using both the transparent & opaque acrylics.
The colors can be mixed & you can get all kinds of custom colors. The transparent colors will allow the grain to show through.
When experimenting with airbrushing acrylics be sure to use a good sealer under them. That way its easy so sand off & start over if you don't like the color or effects your getting The other important thing is to use a High Quality Acrylic paint, not the cheap hobby acrylic's. There is a HUGE difference between them.
So John go get yourself a some High Quality transparent & opaques, in several colors and also a pearlisant base. And start playing, I think you'll be surprise on what can be achieved.
If you've ever been around many motorcycles you've probably seen some pretty amazing airbrush art.

Joe Meirhaeghe
06-08-2012, 6:46 PM
I forgot to mention to be prepared for a little sticker shock on the prices for the High Quality acrylic's. They can really add up as you start to accumulate 20 or more colors.

John Keeton
06-08-2012, 7:57 PM