PDA

View Full Version : Freud Rail and Stile Gap

Travis Fatzinger
06-06-2012, 6:29 PM
I bought a Freud P.A.R.S rail and stile bit set. This is my first time making rails and stiles and I'm not sure if the gap I'm getting is unacceptable. Seems big to me, you can wiggle the rail in the stile. This was my fourth attempt and so far the best. Do they need to be shimmed? If so which bit? I am using a Milwaukee 5625 and an MLCS table. I am using a coping sled for the rails. Thanks for any help.

Larry Frank
06-06-2012, 9:09 PM
I have a set made by Whiteside and do not have any gaps and think your gaps are too big.

The Freud set that you are using is quite different from mine and it looks like you can shim it.

Travis Fatzinger
06-06-2012, 9:13 PM
The more I think about it, I can't figure out why the male part of the tongue and groove is shorter and how that could be fixed.

Bill Bukovec
06-06-2012, 9:39 PM
I had the same problem with a set I have.

The set is a lower cost alternative to a Freud set.

My problem was because my router wasn't tight enough to my router table.

My gap was about .040" too big.

Once I really tightened everything, my problem was solved.

Michael W. Clark
06-06-2012, 10:03 PM
Make sure your fence is aligned with your bearing on the bit for both cuts. Also make sure your sled keeps the rail against the router table fence.

Travis Fatzinger
06-06-2012, 10:05 PM
Everything is tight, I double checked that. I've triple checked the fence and everything else. I was actually wondering if it is possible the bearings in the router are no good, even though it is brand new.

Michael W. Clark
06-06-2012, 10:42 PM
Is it possible the action of the bit could be pushing the rail away from the fence when usung your sled? I use finger boards when running the stiles to keep them close to tge fence and tight to the table.

Bill Huber
06-06-2012, 11:03 PM