PDA

View Full Version : Dewalt 735 and suction?

Bruce Darrow
06-06-2012, 4:23 PM
Is there, or can there be, turbulence problems when attaching strong suction to the fan assisted discharge on a DW 735 planer?

I've got 4" hose running to a 6" drop (long reducer), coming from a 3hp cyclone. Great suction on the end of the hose. I do collect most of the chips, but a fair amount spits back at me, and small piles accumulate on the bed.

I read a post a while back where someone was asking about removing the fan.......was this in response to a similar problem?

What are others doing in similar situations?

Thanks in advance.

Bruce

Victor Robinson
06-06-2012, 4:30 PM
This doesn't answer your question, but folks usually remove the fan to cut down on noise. Since you have a strong DC, you could afford to do that without decreasing your collection efficiency. If anything, it might alleviate the potential turbulence issue but I have no direct knowledge of that.

Kyle Iwamoto
06-06-2012, 5:19 PM
Try running the DW without the DC. Just the 4" hose. See if it spits chips back at you then. I see a couple chips now and again, but not a lot. I think the fan is plenty powerful, and see no reason the DC would make things worse, but you never know.

Jim Mackell
06-06-2012, 6:20 PM
My setup is similar to yours and I do not have a problem. Have you checked to see is there's some minor obstruction in your exhaust chute?

Larry Frank
06-06-2012, 9:12 PM
I am only using a 4" dust collector duct and hose with a 2 HP dust collector. I have a few chips coming out but the majority are sucked away.

I would check to make certain that you do not have something stuck inside the fan and duct in side the planer.

Bruce Darrow
06-06-2012, 9:58 PM
Thanks, guys, for your feedback.

I've been inside the machine, and the hood is fine. I'll go back in tomorrow and open up the fan housing (PITA), just to be sure, but I suspect it will also be clean.....