PDA

View Full Version : 1st suspended attempt

Steve bellinger
05-31-2012, 5:51 PM
This is my first attempt at a suspended hf. There's still more work needed to be done. None of this is glued up yet, so can still make any changes i need to. Woods are black gum,walnut, cherry, and oak burl. Thanks and all the feed back i can get will help me a bunch.233372233373

Jim Underwood
05-31-2012, 6:10 PM
Nice first attempt. I like the shape you're taking with your hollow form. I do think that the curve of the suspension and your HF should match though. It appears that the curve at the top of the HF straightens out, where the curve of your suspension runs on through.

I'm also not sure what I think of the other side of your suspension piece... I can't decide if it should arc over the top of the HF instead or not...

I really like the captured sphere though. That's a nice touch. As is the frame/inset effect on your suspension piece.

Overall, it reminds me a little of Alan Carters work which I enjoy quite a lot. I hope you'll take that as a compliment, as that's how it's intended.

Looking forward to where you take this...

Steve bellinger
05-31-2012, 6:17 PM
Jim thanks,as far as Alan Carters work ,i've been admiring his work for a long time, This piece is my own, but his work is the reason i've been wanting to do one.

John Keeton
05-31-2012, 8:15 PM
Steve, along with Jim's comment on the matching curves, the form seems to lean. I think it might work better if it was perpendicular the the table surface. I like the nice circular radius on the opposite side and feel it balances the mass on the form side. Since the piece is viewable from both sides, I would replicate the insets (which look very nice) on the other side.

Very neat concept!

Harry Robinette
05-31-2012, 8:55 PM