View Full Version : Setting up working Lathe "station"

Denny Rice
05-29-2012, 10:08 PM
Alright guys, here it goes. As a lot of you know I have been a woodworker for a long time, but I in the last year have become really interested in turning and learning as much as possible. I have recently ( like maybe 3 months ago) purchased a Jet 1642EVS, and the money has been flying out of my wallet since. I bought what I call a beginners set of 8 turning tools, a chuck, built a ballast box under the lathe and put 300lbs of sand inside the box. I have also purchased a new P&C 8 inch grinder along with new wheels, and the Wolverine set up to sharpen all my new tools, but my problem lies in setting up a workable station where EVERYTHING is in the right place and I'm not walking across the shop to sharpen a tool. I know not many (if any) of you know what my shop looks like but if any on you have photos of your shop and in particular your lathe area I would like to see them to get an idea what would not only look good but function great. Thanks!:D

Jon McElwain
05-30-2012, 1:27 AM
I don't have any photos handy, but I can describe my lathe area easily enough. My lathe stands parallel to a wall, about 5 feet away. To work at the lathe, I stand between the lathe and the wall. Behind me on the wall (to my left as a face the lathe) are shelves for turning supplies, blanks, and a few rough outs. Directly behind me are my turning tools. Behind me on the right as I face the lathe is my grinding station. Keeps everything close at hand, although it commits a fairly sizable area to the lathe.

Mike Cruz
05-30-2012, 6:46 AM
Jon, your area seems very cozy and efficient.