PDA

View Full Version : Jointer Technique

Christopher Reyes
05-21-2012, 2:36 PM
Hello Everyone,

I am brand new to SMC, and pretty new to wood working in general. I love this site and all the helpful advice on here, hopefully you guys can set a newbie straight on something.

I am currently trying to mill some rough lumber for a new work bench, but I never seem to get a perfectly flat board...it is always just slightly bent end for end. I am following the guidance that I have read on FWW's site... FEE (i.e. joint and then plane the faces, joint the edge, and then cut the end). I am thinking that perhaps their is something wrong with my jointer technique: Once i feed the board past the cutter-head where should I be placing my weight, on the infeed or outfeed side? Also, I keep hearing people talking about "internal stresses" in the wood...not sure how to correct for that, but maybe that is a factor. I also suspect that perhaps my jointer is not long enough, I am using the Delta X5 series 6" jointer on boards about 60" long.

Unfortunately there seem to be a lot of factors at play in milling up a perfectly squared board, so I don't know where to start.

Thanks.

~Chris

frank shic
05-21-2012, 2:54 PM
you should be putting pressure on the outfeed once it's far enough beyond the jointer but i agree it's tricky unless you have a powerfeeder. i try to avoid jointing long boards as much as possible. you brought up a good point though: milling a square piece of wood is not as easy as it seems!

Roy Harding
05-21-2012, 3:22 PM
Pressure (LIGHT pressure) on the outfeed table. You're not trying to mash the wood into the table, just keep it from "chattering".

Try taking smaller slices at first, until you get the hang of it.