PDA

View Full Version : Help newbie with centers

Dan Beckman
05-15-2012, 5:21 PM
I'm a new turner and I am turning bowls on a Delta 46-760. I'm having a problem with catches causing my workpiece to work loose in the centers. I've had problems with a Stebcenter coming loose and the threaded drive on a Nova chuck. When I say coming loose I mean the workpiece spins loose in the drive and will not rotate. Also, the tailstock drive is getting buried in the workpiece. What am I doing wrong?

Ian James Webster
05-15-2012, 5:59 PM
Dan,

I'm fairly new to this myself - so you may want to view my 'advice' with a little caution and wait for the experts to chime in first!! but...... I think you may be trying to take to aggressive a cut and/or tools not sharp enough. I still have a hole in one of my workshop windows from one of my earlier bowls (I left it there as a reminder). With a lighter cut and sharp tools I get far fewer catches and the piece stays put. Also try using a tenon with the Nova chuck rather than the screw part.

Ian

Marty Eargle
05-15-2012, 6:33 PM
If I am understanding you correctly, the center is ripping up the wood. Sometimes, this will happen when you have a catch on some wet wood or if the centers are not planted firmly.

If you can't get the hang of making lighter cuts, I would try doing as much roughing as possible with a faceplate attached to the piece.

Kyle Iwamoto
05-15-2012, 6:57 PM