PDA

View Full Version : Why CorelDraw, why not Illustrator?

Tom Schulze
05-13-2012, 12:55 AM
So , I have a question. Why is it CorelDraw seems to be preferred over Illustrator for creating files for use on the laser engravers. I haven't gotten my engraver yet, but have been working with a demo version of the LaserWork software. It doesn't even have the ability to import the cdr file directly, which seems to suggest that the plugin for coreldraw exports in another format to get it to the Laserwork software. Maybe AI? Anyway, why not just work in Illustrator to begin with?

Please enlighten me as I am new to CorelDraw and only slightly skilled at Illustrator. But my wife is very skilled with Illustrator and would very much prefer to keep working in that unless there are compelling reasons to move to CorelDraw.

Thanks everyone.

Tom

Rodne Gold
05-13-2012, 1:26 AM
Cos Corel was/is free/cheap and hardly copy protected whereas AI was not. Nowdays it's the de facto standard. Like windows isn't the best OS , but it's the standard. Laserworks exports the graphic as an AI ver 8 file , won't take a higher version. You can work in AI if you find it easier - nothing says you MUST work in Corel. We like Corel cos the files also can be used on our CnC router , our Isel cnc engravers , our digital printer and of course , our lasers.

Ernie Balch
05-13-2012, 7:10 AM
You forgot to mention that Corel is superior in every way to AI.

George Carlson
05-13-2012, 10:58 AM
Corel has always been buggier the AI, but it is so much more versatile and easy to use. Just like Photoshop is much better than Photo-Paint.

Stephanie Koenig
05-13-2012, 11:39 AM
Hello Tom,