PDA

View Full Version : Running 5" Raised Panel bit on 3/4 hp shaper

Travis Fatzinger
05-08-2012, 8:38 PM
I'm pretty new to woodworking (< 2years) and am planning on building a set of kitchen cabinets for my own home.

I picked up a used 3/4 hp Grizzly shaper with a 1/2" spindle on Craigslist about 6 months ago with the kitchen cabinets in mind. Truthfully I haven't used it yet because I was doing smaller projects with my router table.

Last weekend I discovered MLCS was only about 15 minutes away from me so I took a ride over there. They had a 5" Roman Ogee raised panel Katana bit. It is 3/4" but came with 1/2" spacers so I figured it would work on my machine and bought it. After doing some reading on this forum I realize I might have made a mistake buying such a big bit for my toy of a shaper. I've read comments about how scary a 5" bit can be. I've also realized that running a bit this big will stress the bearings in the shaper pretty bad.

So I'm looking for some realistic advice. If I go slow and take a few passes will I be able to get a good product and keep all my fingers with the bit I have? I'm not too worried about the bearings in the shaper. Keep in mind this is my only kitchen and don't have any other projects like this planed for the future. Otherwise should I try returning it and look for another raised bit? Any ideas?

Thanks for the help.

Peter Kelly
05-08-2012, 8:52 PM
Yeah, return it. A 5" diameter cutter on a 1/2" spindle in that shaper isn't a real good idea. Another option would be to get a rabbeting cutter and make flat panel doors instead. Should work okay in that shaper.

Peter Quinn
05-08-2012, 10:08 PM