PDA

View Full Version : Electrical problem with G0514X2 Grizly 19" bandsaw?

John Nesbitt
05-07-2012, 6:22 AM
I have had problems with this bandsaw from the beginning, but thought it was fixed. Initially the saw would not start, so Grizzly sent a new magnetic switch assembly. That was a few years ago and seemed to take care of the problem. Cut well with good results and no further starting glitches. As a hobbyist, I have only used the bandsaw a few hours (due to moving, time constraints, etc.) since the purchase. I recently moved it to my current location, and now it will start up and run for only one or two seconds before the magnetic switch interrupts the circuit and the saw turns off. I have checked the connections, contacts, capacitors, and switches and they are pristine due to the limited usage. I am unable to get the saw to run. I contacted Grizzly and tech support had me hold in the mag switch manually. The saw ran fine then. I told him about the replacement switch I hadfor the initial problem. When I changed the mag switch for the original one, the same thing happened. He felt it unlikely that both switches were bad and thinks something else is going on. He promised to confer with other tech people and call me back. It has been several days, and no return call. Anyone have any idea about what might be going on? Should I get another mag switch and try it? Anyone have a similar problem? Thanks for the help.

Curt Harms
05-07-2012, 7:52 AM
Do you have a means to measure amp draw? Like a clamp-on meter? It does seem odd that two starters would have the exact same problem though if they both came from the same run I guess it's possible. I wonder if the start circuit is not disengaging thus causing an overload.

David H Parker
05-07-2012, 9:19 AM