PDA

View Full Version : Where to find accurately sized dowels?

Royce Meritt
03-31-2005, 9:20 AM
Does everyone else have trouble finding dowels that are REALLY the diameter they are supposed to be? I'm tired of buying dowels that are supposed to be 1/2 and are really about a 32nd of an inch too small. :mad:

Is there someplace that sells dowels that are correct? I would gladly pay twice as much for a 1/2 dowel that really fits into a 1/2 inch hole. Thanks.

Scott Loven
03-31-2005, 9:38 AM
Veritas sells a dowel maker (http://www.leevalley.com/wood/page.aspx?c=2&p=42331&cat=1,180,42288)
Lie-nielsen makes a dowel sizing plate (http://www.garrettwade.com/jump.jsp?lGen=detail&itemID=106100&itemType=PRODUCT&iMainCat=0&iSubCat=0&iProductID=106100)
I have no experience with either tool but they look like they would give you want. The problem could be with the size of your drill bit or drill press run-out also.
Scott

Michael Ballent
03-31-2005, 9:49 AM
Veritas sells a dowel maker (http://www.leevalley.com/wood/page.aspx?c=2&p=42331&cat=1,180,42288)
Lie-nielsen makes a dowel sizing plate (http://www.garrettwade.com/jump.jsp?lGen=detail&itemID=106100&itemType=PRODUCT&iMainCat=0&iSubCat=0&iProductID=106100)
I have no experience with either tool but they look like they would give you want. The problem could be with the size of your drill bit or drill press run-out also.
Scott

I would have to agree, go neander on this if you really need to have full control over the process. Have you tried the Miller Dowel System, it could be what you are looking for...

Tim Sproul
03-31-2005, 10:27 AM
wooden dowels are wood. They generally shrink and swell with the climate they're in.....

As Scott said, the problem isn't necessarily the dowel - it could be the bit or drill behind the bit....let's not go further along that chain :D