PDA

View Full Version : Staircase question

Patrick Galpin
04-29-2012, 5:34 PM
I need to build a staircase for our new addition and need to match the wood and colour to the wood floor I laid. The staircase will be made out of (or at least topped with) hickory and will span a height difference of 11.5 feet and will be supported by walls on both sides. My questions, for the strigers, best to make them out of general softwood and then face with hickory? Also, for the treads, best to make out of plywood 3/4" to 1" and also face with hickory? Thanks for any help.

Sam Murdoch
04-29-2012, 7:08 PM
I don't see any advantage in applying hickory over a soft wood, 2x spruce or whatever for the stringers though I think you can do it well but I would advise against using a ply sub tread. In my experience this just leads to more wood movement accompanied by squeaks and creaks. Can be done with lots of adhesive but why? Having said that I have NO EXPERIENCE with hickory so can't at all speak to the merits of that species as a stair material. I'm responding just to your double material question.

Sam

Michael W. Clark
04-29-2012, 7:13 PM
Patrick,
I may not be of much help, but I'll try. When I framed houses, we used 3 stringers; 1 on each side and 1 in the middle. We cut the tread notches in with circular saw, then attached (2) 2x's at each step. The front 2x was flush with the vertical part of the riser. We used the 2x's as our treads during construction. I "assume" that the hardwood (or plywood for carpet) was attached on top of the 2x's and a vertical was added for the riser. The drywall would run down to the top of the tread and molding or carpet would cover the joint between the drywall and tread?