PDA

View Full Version : bowl rough-out drying question

Ted Evans
04-27-2012, 10:14 AM
Hi all, I have an upright freezer that I converted into a kiln for drying my rough turned projects, starting with 40w, 60w and 75w bulbs. My question is, when the wood is maple, walnut and cherry, end grain both inside and out plus the rim, has been coated with anchor seal, should the items be allowed to drop from 32 plus MC down to a lower MC before placing them in the kiln or, can one put them in while the MC is still high? Any thoughts and/or suggestions would be appreciated. Ted

Chris Studley
04-27-2012, 12:22 PM
I'm no expert (or even novice) regarding the drying of wood.

That said, what comes to mind for me is... What happens to the other pieces in the kiln when you place a wet piece in there? I would imagine that it would change the environment, RH, for all of the pieces in the kiln, kind of like placing something hot in the refridgerator, it brings up the temp of the gallon of milk sitting next to it.

Obviously the RH changes everytime you place a new piece in the kiln, but I'd imagine the more wet of a piece you put in the more it effects the drying rate of everything in the kiln.

Russell Neyman
04-27-2012, 2:46 PM
Hi all, I have an upright freezer that I converted into a kiln for drying my rough turned projects, starting with 40w, 60w and 75w bulbs. Ted

I assume you have some sort of temperature gauge, and you track that. The converted refrigerator/freezers I've seen use one light bulb, with an adjustable opening to control the internal temperature, opening it to lower it, and close it to raise it. I'm no expert, but from what I've heard a kiln of this type should be kept between 75 and 100 degreees, and my friend keeps his about 85.

Jamie Donaldson
04-27-2012, 3:23 PM