PDA

View Full Version : Les Outils Cullen Tools Mortise Gauge from Lee Valley - Problems

Darren Brewster
04-26-2012, 1:43 PM
Does anyone have any experience with this gauge (item B) (http://www.leevalley.com/en/wood/page.aspx?p=49901&cat=1,42936) or any other wooden style marking gauges? The reason I ask is because there seems to be a lot of slop in the mortise that the beam runs through, more than 1mm which doesn't seem like much, but is enough for the head to pivot on the beam. I have never used a wooden gauge before, so maybe this is the tolerance that they are made to, so I just wanted to ask for opinions before I contact Lee Valley customer service. I would assume that the beam would be friction fit inside the mortise from side to side, but that is a complete assumption on my part.

On a positive note, everything else about the gauge seems excellent. I have used it even with the slop and I am really liking a pin style mortise gauge. It looks good, feels good, the pins leave a nice distinct mark, and it has a comfortable and confident feeling weight.

David Weaver
04-26-2012, 1:49 PM
I don't have any wooden gauges that have that kind of room to move laterally (i.e., slop that can't be tightened out). If it's as large as a mm or more, you'd almost have to guess it was there intentionally, because you couldn't exactly miss that easily in building one.

Darren Brewster
04-26-2012, 2:30 PM
You have a point. I will probably ask customer service what the other gauges are like, maybe I got a lemon, maybe they are just built that way.

Jessica Pierce-LaRose
04-26-2012, 2:31 PM