PDA

View Full Version : How to sell a drum set

John Coloccia
04-25-2012, 1:56 PM
Has anyone ever sold a drum set? I have a fairly high end set (Yamaha Maple Absolute Nouveous, Anton Fig snare, Sabian/Zildjain cymbals, lots of DW hardware) that I just need to sell. I'm an OK drummer but I'm not a great drummer, and I'll never be a great drummer. I play mostly guitar, piano and bass. It's a relatively big set w/5 toms. Frankly, I need the $$$ and space more than I need a loud toy to further aggravate my tinnitus.

Putting it on consignment is not an option around here. Everyone seems to want 40% commission. I've got way too much money in this thing for that.

What have people done? Does Craigslist work? Should I split it up and start selling cymbals, and then maybe sell the snare seperately, shell pack seperate, etc? I'm having trouble even pricing the thing because it looks like set is no longer made.

Just looking for suggestions. I'm not really a drummer so I'm not in the drummer community and I don't really know how drummers typically go about buying things.

Thanks for any help.

David Weaver
04-25-2012, 2:10 PM
It never hurts to put it on craigslist. I had a very undesirable common solid state amp that I put on craigslist a couple of years ago for 2/3rds of what I bought it (new). I was sure I'd be holding it for a long time, but there was a guy at my door before noon the same day I posted the amp, with cash in his hand saying "I've been waiting for an amp like this to turn up on craigslist for a long time".