PDA

View Full Version : Router table - how flat is flat enough?

Greg Woloshyn
04-24-2012, 6:12 PM
I'm working on a router table for my table saw extension. I've laminated 2 pieces of 3/4" MDF for the table and will be building a plywood supporting frame underneath for extra strength. I'm going to be using an aluminum woodpeckers router plate. Being a machinist, I'm concerned about the overall flatness of my tabletop. It looks to have a slight sag in the middle of about .010. Is this too much? What can I get away with to still make accurate cuts and not have problems in the future?

pat warner
04-24-2012, 6:36 PM
10 mils, for me is unacceptable for joinery.
If your doing edge to edge or end to edge joinery, 5-10 mils of misallinement is a mess.
Moreover; it's an unpredictability. Sometimes things will flush out sometimes they won't.
Since you know you have a 10 mil error you won't have to look far to diagnose poor joinery.
If for every ordinary stick (section and length) you pass x this cutter, it never rocks, then you might be home free; but I would not count on it.
Forget this (http://patwarner.com/images/dovetailed-lap.jpg) on a bumpy table.

Sid Matheny
04-24-2012, 7:09 PM
If you are saying .010" I would say it would be close enought for most all the type of work I do on my RT.

Sid

Dwayne Cromarty
04-24-2012, 7:43 PM
I have a Jessem phenolic router lift and with the router clamped in place it is slightly dished in the middle. This does cause issues with accuracy, for sure. If you are not flat, make sure the router is high, not low. At least that way your stock is tight to the table at the router bit.

Larry Frank
04-24-2012, 8:00 PM
The other issues is how level the router plate is with your router table. I think that it will be difficult to get them within 0.010". My router table has the router plate just slightly higher than the table.

Jeff Duncan
04-25-2012, 12:12 PM