PDA

View Full Version : A DVD for the absolute beginner?

Glen Blanchard
04-24-2012, 1:46 PM
Is there an instructional DVD that is suited to the woodworker who has never ever ever turned? I'm talking real basics here.

Ken Fitzgerald
04-24-2012, 2:22 PM
Glen...If you want to learn to turn bowls I recommend BIll Grumbine's 1st DVD "Turned Bowls Made Easy"......Richard Raffin has a series of DVDs out with a variety of projects.

Glen Blanchard
04-24-2012, 2:28 PM
Thanks Ken, but that's probably beyond my present skill set. I know what a head stock is. I know what a tail stock is. I know what a banjo is. A tool rest too. That's about all I know presently however. So I need the very basics. I'm currently watching some You Tube videos, but thought I'd inquire about a DVD.

Mike Peace
04-24-2012, 2:51 PM
Jet produced an excellent DVD on beginning woodturning with Nick Cook. It has been placed on youtube in segments starting here
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Ks_SJcAyPtI

If you want to watch a YouTube on how to hold wood on a lathe you might want to watch this free hour and a half video.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=aUXil-5dEeo

Ron Radliff
04-24-2012, 2:52 PM
Try this one: http://coolhammers.com/Turning%20Info.htm
The title speaks for itself.

Ken Fitzgerald
04-24-2012, 3:02 PM
Glen,

My favorite reference that I used when I first began turning was a book "Woodturning - A Foundation Course " by Keith Rowley. It is written for the begginning turner. Often I had it open beside the lathe for instant reference. It's listed at Amazon for $13.43 plus shipping. http://www.amazon.com/Woodturning-Foundation-Course-New-Edition/dp/1861081146/ref=sr_1_1?s=books&ie=UTF8&qid=1335294050&sr=1-1 He takes you through all forms of turning and has a list of projects that progress with your newly learned skills. He teaches you how to present the different tools and gives you the "whys".

Bill Bulloch
04-24-2012, 3:36 PM