PDA

View Full Version : Workbench top

Julian Amin
04-24-2012, 12:30 PM
Hello everyone,

I'm planning to build a workbench in the upcoming weeks. I bought Chris Schwarz's book and have been adopting some ideas from it. He suggests Southern Yellow Pine, and I think also recommends Fir as a substitute for those out west. I'm in Maryland and the home center stores around me don't have SYP. Can anyone recommend an alternative that I could easily find around here (also, I'm a jobless student on an extremely tight budget)?

One more thing, I notice most of the laminated tops are made from glued 2x4s. Is there any reason not to use 4x4s, with half the amount of boards?

Thanks!

Aaron Rappaport
04-24-2012, 1:02 PM
The home depot down here in Bowie, about 30 miles south of you, often has mixed lots of #1 and #2 Doug Fir 4 x 4s. There was a lot of discussion a few months ago here (http://www.sawmillcreek.org/archive/index.php/t-170911.html?) about the benefits and drawbacks of 4 x 4s. My take home lesson from that was that if one is going to use 4 x 4s, it really pays to cull through the stack at the lumberyard/borg to find the ones that are quartersawn. More recently, Wilbur Pan started a thread over on the woodnet handtools forum about repairing his bench top - made out of DF 4 x 4s, because the front top corner got well out of square, probably because the front 4 x 4 wasn't quartersawn, so moved into a parallelogram cross section as it dried.

On the other hand, Wilbur's repair was successful and didn't seem too onerous to make, so there's an argument for using 4 x 4s, even if the only ones you can get are rift sawn. In the thread I linked to, well-respected boat-builder Bob Smalser warned about twist in 4 x 4s, which is certainly advice to take into consideration as you make your decision.

Jeff Bartley
04-24-2012, 2:04 PM