PDA

View Full Version : Massive lumber storage rack

jim gossage
04-22-2012, 9:20 PM
230347This lumber rack is fairly easy to build, costs about $150, and will hold over 2500 pounds of wood in 18 individual cells or shelves. The real beauty of this rack is that it conveniently stores wood of varying lengths (13-72”) and you can easily tell the length of a given piece by seeing how far it sticks out from the unit since all pieces are pushed all the way in. No more having to sort through a pile of wood to find the right piece. The only caveat is that I am not a structural engineer so I can’t promise you that your ceiling won’t fall down! However, I did some crude load bearing tests on the ceiling joists (2x8s) to make sure they wouldn’t sag under the weight of all the lumber and did not detect any problems. Also, after the unit was built, I measured the distance from the floor to the bottom of one of the central vertical supports before adding any wood. After the unit was up and loaded for more than 4 months, there was less than 1/16” sag. I was fairly sure that the vertical 2x4 supports, brackets, and pipes would hold the final load, but I worried a lot about whether the unit would be solid or whether it would easily rack when stressed. In the end, I was shocked at how solid this unit was. The pieces were interconnected well enough that it just didn’t budge when pushed on from any direction. You can do whatever you want with the dimensions of the individual shelves, but I made the lengths progressively shorter from the top shelf to the bottom shelf. With a little testing, I determined that a piece of wood was fairly stable on a shelf as long as length of the wood was 3” less than twice the length of the shelf. The bottom shelf is 13” and can hold pieces of wood 13-23” long; the second shelf is 23” long and holds pieces 23-38”; the top shelf is 38” long and holds pieces 38-73”. All shelves are 14-1/2” wide based on joist spacing of 16”. The top shelf is 25” tall to a