PDA

View Full Version : Workbench vise

Julian Amin
04-20-2012, 5:02 PM
Hello everyone,

I'm new to woodworking and have been starting to plan/build a workbench. A few weeks ago I purchased a used vise (the green one below). Then, just a few days ago, I saw this other vise and bought it also--it was totally impulsive but it looked to be a good deal. I'm thinking I should probably stick with just one and try to sell the other to make some money for other tools. Are there any differences in how each of these vises are used or where they are supposed to be mounted on the bench? And, which one would you recommend me keeping for small-medium sized projects? Thanks!

Peter Pedisich
04-20-2012, 5:41 PM
I would compare them by temporarily mounting them, if possible, and putting a 2" block of wood hard over to one end of the vise, and try to measure the deflection. Sell the one that deflects more, if they are both good with minimal deflection, and cost little, then use them both.

good luck!

Mark Engel
04-20-2012, 5:52 PM
I would use the green vise as a face vice and the other as an end vice. Every bench should have (at least) two vises. :)

Julian Amin
04-20-2012, 6:13 PM
I would use the green vise as a face vice and the other as an end vice. Every bench should have (at least) two vises. :)

I have a feeling that this might be the suggestion I end up taking. Would anyone mind explaining what the functional difference between a face vise and an end vise?

Mark Engel
04-20-2012, 6:17 PM
Location, location, location.

Curt Putnam
04-20-2012, 6:55 PM