PDA

View Full Version : Random Orbit Sander Choices - Help me decide

Brent Ring
04-18-2012, 12:26 PM
All,

I am trying to decide which of the following ROS to purchase. In the ring are the Bosch ROS20VS, which has the best price for me at $59.00, but it seems to have need a special adapter to connect to a 2" shop vacuum. It also only has a 1 year warranty and a 2.2V motor. Next are both the Porter Cable 390K at $93.49, and the Dewalt D26456 at $84.97. These two sanders almost seem exactly the same, except for color and name. So, if push comes to shove, the lower price might win. Ability to connect to a full size shop vac is important.

I am leaning towards the Dewalt, but the other two are interesting to me. I am a hobbyist woodworker, but did wear out the brake on an older Porter Cable in about a year. So that might give you an idea of what I how much I sand. I do have a Dewalt 1/4 sheet palm sander that I have had for over 15 years that is still going strong.

Thoughts?

Stew Hagerty
04-18-2012, 1:07 PM
Wood magazine just did a shop test of 6" ROS. Issue 211 May 2012. The "Best Tool" was the Bosch ROS65VC for $239. And the "Best Value" was the Rigid R2611 for $114. They also had an article on whether or not you need a 6" model instead of or in addition to a 5" model.

Mike Henderson
04-18-2012, 1:18 PM
I have a couple of Porter Cable 390 sanders. Good sanders - very strong and reliable - brushless motor. Only issue is the grip - you need a large hand to grip it comfortably.

Woodcraft had a sale on these recently at $85 and PC was giving a $15 rebate. Don't know if it's still going on.

Mike

[And you don't need the 390K compared to the 390. The only thing added (that I can see) is a carrying case.

Ron Natalie
04-18-2012, 1:44 PM
I've got the 6" version of the Bosch and have been quite happy with it.

Mike Hollingsworth
04-18-2012, 1:49 PM
Try a Rotex. You have 30 days to return it. You won't.

Prashun Patel
04-18-2012, 2:08 PM