PDA

View Full Version : Back saw chattering

Bill Stephenson
04-07-2012, 1:32 PM
Well, here is my first post and I am in need of some good advise. I am new to the world of hand saws and am having trouble with one expensive 14" backsaw saw I recently purchased. The saw was originally filed to perform as a Xcut/rip combination
upon receiving the saw it was chattering a lot on the back stroke when using it to rip. I sent the saw back to the maker & requested that the saw be refiled straight rip. The maker refiled the saw and sent it back.(service was excellent)
The saw now still chatters on the back stroke but not as much. It chatters more as the backstroke reaches the toe area. I have a commercial rip with the same 12 ppi that also chatters but much less. I have recently bought an old disston D-8
that is 5ppi and I performed my first saw filing attempt with it. I filed the disston with about 8 Deg. rake straight rip. The disston cuts without any chatter and I am very satisfied with it's performance. With my limited experience I am hesitant to file my expensive 14" backsaw and need some input as to what can be done to eliminate the chattering on this saw.

Chris Vandiver
04-07-2012, 2:09 PM
Define chattering. Bouncing or vibrating(wobble)?

Jessica Pierce-LaRose
04-07-2012, 2:27 PM
I would just try and take the weight off the saw a bit on the backstroke. Sometimes with my larger backsaw, the added weight of the steel back keeps it a bit more engaged in the cut on return stroke than would be normal with a lighter saw. Particularly as I'm starting a cut (it's less of a hassle to control as it gets deeper in the cut.) Relieving the weight from the cut helps keep the gullets more clear, too as you get further into the wood, though.

Jim Koepke
04-07-2012, 2:32 PM
Bill,

Welcome to the Creek.

Did you mention this to the maker?