PDA

View Full Version : Can you help identify material... neoprene maybe?

Brent Franker
04-04-2012, 4:15 PM
Hello!

I'm new to this laser world and don't really know much about what I'm doing so please bear with me :)

I have an Epilog 36EXT 75 watt laser. One of the first projects I'd like to do involves what looks to be neoprene but I'm not sure? I've taken a few pictures of this material here...

http://www.extreme-z.com/gallery/album08/P1000335_resize?full=1
http://www.extreme-z.com/gallery/album08/P1000334_resize?full=1
http://www.extreme-z.com/gallery/album08/P1000333_resize

Can somebody please help me identify what this material is and possibly where to buy it? I'd need different colors like red, yellow, green, etc. and not just black. I'd prefer to buy it in sheets so I know it lays flat when cutting but can buy rolls. I don't need like hundreds of yards... just want to try something and see if it works :)

Thank you!

Dan Hintz
04-04-2012, 7:52 PM
Pictures don't say everything... but it looks like Neoprene to me.

Bill Cunningham
04-04-2012, 8:02 PM
Yup.. that looks like a chem blown neoprene..

Steven Cox
04-04-2012, 8:03 PM
If it is Neoprene the question is is it safe to cut with a laser because I believe it contains polychloroprene. I had a quick look at a some MSDS for a few different grades of Neoprene and all those I looked at say....
Fire and Explosion Hazard : Burning produces noxious and toxic fumes.

Doug Griffith
04-04-2012, 8:07 PM
I agree with Dan. Looks like neoprene.

FYI, if you Google "colored neoprene" you will see different colored "neoprene" cloning pucks. I've had my hands on many of them and even had them analyzed to see if they are in fact neoprene. They are not. They are a type of foam. Denser, less flexible, and similar to craft foam sheets. Neoprene is typically "colored" by adding a layer of colored fabric.

Richard Rumancik
04-04-2012, 8:15 PM
Maybe search on "wetsuit material" and see if you can find a supplier.