PDA

View Full Version : I am really confussed....

Dale Cruea
04-04-2012, 12:01 AM
I have been sharpening buy hand for several years now. I am getting pretty good at it in my view.
I rub my blades across several different grit stones and then an 8000 grit King gold.
I used to follow this with a short strop with rouge.
I found out that rouge was too soft for hardened steel like I use. I changed to the green stuff. This compound is said to be .5 micron.
I figured IF my 8000 grit stone is about 2 micron or there about. Then the .5 green compound should not scratch the bevel but polish it.
I have a new horse butt strop. Hair side out.

It appears not to be this way.
The green compound adds lots of scratches to my bevel.
It will scratch the back that I took all of this time to polish with the rouge.

My question is: How can something that is roughly 4 times finer put bigger scratches than my 8000 grit stone in my blades?????

My bevels look worse after stropping than when I finish with the 4000 grit stone.

I am thinking I should buy a 15000 grit stone and be done with stropping.
Or got to the .5 micron diamond spray to strop with.

Curt Putnam
04-04-2012, 1:05 AM
From whom did you purchase the green crayon?

Stuart Tierney
04-04-2012, 1:13 AM
If you hit yourself in the head with a hammer, do you keep doing it and wonder why it hurts or do you stop doing it so it stops hurting?

Lose the polishing compound, and use the strop without anything on it.

Keep it simple.

Stu.

Derek Cohen
04-04-2012, 1:47 AM
The Gold King leaves a shiny finish. But so should the green compound.

On what surface are you using the green compound?

The problem could be that the green compound may be contaminated, the surface you use it on is contaminated, or both.

Regards from Perth

Derek

Daniel Berlin
04-04-2012, 3:21 AM
The Gold King leaves a shiny finish. But so should the green compound.

On what surface are you using the green compound?