PDA

View Full Version : Help with old motor...

Dinah Becker
03-29-2012, 3:04 PM
I have become the owner of a Homecraft Delta wood lathe 56-5301. It has an Atlas motor that sits on the bottom of the stand. I have been cleaning and upgrading, and really messed up. Decided to replace the cord, ok, works fine. But then the switch (toggle, on off only) seemed loose, so decided to replace it. In doing so, wiring kind of crumbled. When I put it back to how I thought it was, shorts out, melting the plug end.... So, I am wiring it wrong obviously. I looked at a photos I took and it seems I have sort of figured it out, just need one more bit of help

Motor has 1, 2, 3, connections. Switch has 1, 2. White wire to #1, Wire from motor #3 to #2..I think, but where does the black wire from the cord go - I know it goes to the motor, but 1, 2 or 3. ? If you need a photo, I can do it. Thanks. I am new at this but the lathe was free.

Steve Schlumpf
03-29-2012, 4:43 PM
Dinah - Welcome to the Creek! A couple of photos would sure help everyone out. Also, there is usually a diagram somewhere on the motor that shows the proper wiring. Be sure to take a photo of that if possible!

If you need help posting photos - there is a tutorial (http://www.sawmillcreek.org/showthread.php?167711-posting-photos-as-of-June-2011) in the Tech Support Forum. Check it out and if you have any questions - let me know.

Faust M. Ruggiero
03-29-2012, 6:51 PM
Hi Dinah,
That model was my first lathe. I still have it tucked away in storage. I had to replace the motor when I got the lathe. It had what looked like an old washing machine motor when I bought it. I bought a shiny new 1/2 hp Sears motor and used it on and off for a long time. I wouldn't mess around with motor wiring unless you can find the wiring diagram. Meanwhile, if you need pix of anything on an identical machine, let me know. Your profile doesn't say what state you live in.
faust

Jeff Myroup
03-29-2012, 7:32 PM