PDA

View Full Version : Mortise troubles

john davey
03-28-2012, 5:59 PM
I am still building my bench and am at the mortise chopping stage. This is the first time I am using the 1/2 mortise chisel from the Narex set. I am having a few issues. First I flattened the back of the chisel but did not grind the bevel before sharpening it. The leading edge was weak and broke down. See pic below. This is not a big concern to me as I have heard others say this and after grinding they were fine. Second problem is a little more troubling. I had the side of the top of the mortice blow out on my while prying. See pic below (repaired but you get the idea). I am assuming this is a combination of my poor technique and the fact that the legs of the bench are laminated pine. The dimensions are 3.25 x 3 and I am chopping through the 3.25 side. My guess is I am so how twisting the chisel to cause this but am not sure. To be honest this is my first time chopping through mortises and this happened when I was about 3/4 of an inch into the cut on the second side. Meaning I already chopped about an inch and a half of out of the other side. This pine also feels very brittle. Almost like some kiln dried 2x4's I purchased a while ago that just disintegrated when you drove a nail into them. The legs were laminated from the straightest 2x12's I could find at the Borg and ripped to size. If it just technique I am fine with it just need to know if this is common with pine or I should practice a bunch before I continue..... Thanks, John....

Jim Foster
03-28-2012, 6:31 PM
I used my 1/2 inch Narex Mortise chisel to cut a 1 1/4" deep by 3" or 4" long mortise in White Oak and it stayed pretty sharp. The only thing I did to it was flatten the back a little and add a 35 degree microbevel to the front. From the pictures, something seems a little excessive. Did you find a knot when you were prying?

David Posey
03-28-2012, 6:32 PM