PDA

View Full Version : What's happening to me???

Harold Burrell
03-28-2012, 4:24 PM
First off, let me tell you this...I am a power tool guy. At least I consider myself to be. I mean, to me a relaxing mini-vacation is a day at my nearest Grizzly store (I'm not kidding).

I have been caught talking with my TS...and accused of hugging my BS (at least one of them). I am also quite close to my jointer, my planer and my drill press (not to mention that I am on a first name basis with all of my routers).

Now, keep in mind, I am a hobbyist at best. My shop is in my garage, which also doubles as...well...my place to do various and sundry "man stuff".

Part of that "man stuff" includes my weight-lifting, which brings me to my little problem...

In the past I was combining my woodworking and my weightlifting on the same day and at the same time (since I have precious little time in the garage). However, I started to get concerned about the dust problem. So...I stopped doing them simultaneously.

That proved to be impossible.

Being that close to the wood...and the tools...and all of my projects (in various stages of completion) and not being able to do anything with them was...well...more than I could endure. So I started to look for things to do between sets that didn't involve making a lot of dust. One of the first things I grabbed was a box of old Stanley hand planes that I had picked up from rummage sales. I decided to try my hand at tuning them.

I still remember the chills I got when I produced my first translucent shaving...

Now I am even hand sanding an entire project. If I am not mistaken, I think I can almost hear when the surface has been sanded down. Is that possible???

And...please don't tell anybody...but I catch myself talking to the WOOD instead of the tools.

Somebody please help me!

Tim Caley
03-28-2012, 5:20 PM
Welcome to the slippery slope. It is a fun ride to the bottom. But oh, wait. Is there a bottom?

Casey Gooding
03-28-2012, 5:24 PM