PDA

View Full Version : Dust Collection Question

Jim Dunn
03-25-2005, 8:24 AM
Can retangular ducting be used for dust collection. Have any of you engineers done the air flow caculations on this type of pipe profile. I'd like to use 3x8" or something similar so as to keep it as close to the wall as possible. That will give it a low profile. Believe me when I say I can use the extra 3" of space.

Michael Gabbay
03-25-2005, 8:59 AM
Jim -

I'm no engineer (and I did not sleep at a Holiday Inn Express last night :D ) but I would think that the corners would collect dust. Additionally, the rectangular shape may not be the most efficient chamber for air flow.

My 2 cents...

Mike

Tom Hintz
03-25-2005, 11:49 AM
I have actually seen test data on this stuff at a NASCAR team when I did that sillyness. The square shape is far less efficient than round. It has something to do with the boundary layers of air flow..(I saw it, didn't understand the high-tech stuff). Air piles up in the corners and drags on the rest where in a round tube the air is more constant over the entire area.
They were experimenting with radiator and brake duct openings and how they transitioned to round, and if they HAD to transition to round. They all use round as close to the duct as possible so square ain't getting it.
How does this impact the air volume and velocity generated by a DC? I dunno.

Bill Lewis
03-25-2005, 12:57 PM
What they said, round is more efficient.

That being said, A DC system using rectangular (HVAC) ducting would also tend to suck in the flat walls of the ducting. Possibly to collapse.

Jim Dunn
03-25-2005, 3:33 PM
Thanks all. Never gave a thought to the ducting collapsing :( Was a good idea for about 15 seconds though.

Bob Johnson2
03-25-2005, 6:54 PM
I saw in one of the DC do it yourself books where the author built a vertical manifold out of wood (It looked roughly 6"x6"x3'). He didn't make mention of having any problems. Had round 4" drops coming off of that.

Steven Wilson