PDA

View Full Version : Warping What did I do wrong?

Craig Hunt
03-20-2012, 5:41 PM
I'm fairly new to woodworkking been doing this for about three years.
I Have been building skills, right now I have been planing down boards by hand.
A couple of weeks ago I started planing some poplar down to reduce the thickness from about 3/4" to 5/8".
After letting the board sit in my garage for at least a week.
I haven't bee able to get into the garage till today and I noticed all of the boards I have been planing are
very badly cupped. Weather wise we have gone from very mild winter to dry mid 80's weather here in a weeks time.
Very strange weather for this time of year around here. Then Yesterday it rained several inches. My goal is to get the stock down to 1/2" thick but I don't know if my boards can be flattened any more. I had most of the wood for my project dimensioned to final size.
Is there anything I can do to these boards to get them flat. What could i have done to prevent this mess?

Thanks
Craig

David Nelson1
03-20-2012, 6:09 PM
Square/clean up an edge. Mark the edge so you can take the dimension from the middle of the board. Flatten one side to get your reference, flip it over and plane till you hit the mark. Then flip it back and repeat the process. Stack it so it can dry on both sides for a few days. It helps if you kinda know the moisture content of the wood to start with. No guarantees wood will move.

I don't plane for dimension much by hand, but the same rules apply to machine use. Since I learned and try to pay attention things have been much better. Still get a surprise ever now and again.

Just thought of another trick. Don't take it to final dimension all at once, sneak up on it so the majority of the wood can equalize to the new size.

Neil Brooks
03-20-2012, 6:14 PM
When you plane, or rough mill your boards, you often expose inside wood that isn't as dry as the outside wood was, making it susceptible to warp.