PDA

View Full Version : Still Learning.....

Joey Chavez
03-19-2012, 10:03 PM
I'm still new to the hand tool world and have used my planes enough now to go through a few of sharpenings but the last time or two I've sharpened I was disappointed. I didn't understand, I hadn't done anything different than what I had done before and had some really sharp blades in the beginning. I traced back to all the research I had done on sharpening and realized the one thing I had yet to do since buying my sharpening tools was flatten the waterstones. I had thought about it several times but kept putting it off. I had bought the Naniwa Superstones partly because they require less maintenance so when the thought of flattening them crossed my mind I figured, oh well they're probably fine. So Sunday morning I drew a grid across the top and started flattening against a diamond stone. They were far from flat, it took me a while but got all the stones flat and started working on a blade. Wow, problem solved, there was the glassy smooth surface I had been missing. Instead of getting back to my project I spent all morning sharpening nearly all my blades. I felt like I had brand new tools again! Nothing wrong with the Naniwa stones, they are excellent, the user just needed to realize they need basic maintenance like all the other tools do.

So a tip to any others like me that are new in the hand tool world, keep those stones flat!