PDA

View Full Version : Back Bevel Question

Bill Rhodus
03-19-2012, 7:29 AM
I read a post today on Chris Schwarz's blog about back beveling block planes that intrigues me. I have gotten into the habit of sharpening my old Millers Falls block by starting on a coarse stone to remove wear to the back of the iron; this tells me I need to try the back bevel on the block and will do so (will post results at a later date). In the meantime, I am purchasing a Veritas BU smoother and would like to know if any of you have experimented with back bevels on this plane. Derek, your posts on the Veritas smoother's performance as well as how to camber the iron have contributed to my decision to purchase this plane. Have you/will you post your thoughts on this?

Maurice Ungaro
03-19-2012, 7:52 AM
I am by no means an expert, but it's my understanding that one of the virtues of a BU system, is that a back bevel is not used to change the cutting angle. Simply grind a new angle on the iron face itself.

David Weaver
03-19-2012, 8:21 AM
You can do it on the BU planes, but there's no great reason to. They will come as flat as any iron you'll ever find, and all you have to do is keep up with removing the wear.

Clearance is 12 degrees on the LA planes, so you need to be careful, if you're going to use a back bevel, to keep it as shallow as possible, like with a half mm feeler or something as charlesworth suggests.

Bill Rhodus
03-19-2012, 9:34 AM
I have read several times on the net that the BU plane irons experience wear in the back (flat side) of the iron that requires the iron to be sharpened beyond the wear when it gets dull and thus contributes to more work verses the bevel down plane. I believe this is the crux of the aforementioned Chris Schwarz article and has been my experience with my old block. My initial reaction is there may be some validity to the back bevel to accomodate wear not to change the cutting angle or flatten the iron.

Derek Cohen
03-19-2012, 11:06 AM